skip to Main Content

Get in touch today to request a quote.

Valerie Adjusted-2
A Bit About Me

I am a native of Southern California, spending my childhood and most of my adult life living in the same area. I grew up in a family that stressed the value of education. My sister and I went through the public school system in the 50’s and 60’s. I went on to graduate from college with a degree in Sociology and obtained Multiple Subjects and Specialist/Severely Handicapped teaching credentials.

This led to a long career working with “special needs” children… close to forty years. I began as a Classroom Attendant while still in college, then teacher at the completion of my credentials. Looking back, it was a good, fulfilling career choice.

I married my “high school sweetheart.” (We will be attending our 50 year high school reunion in October!) Our son was born in 1977, and continues to be a strong focus in our lives.

We stayed in Southern California until 2009, when we both retired and moved to Arizona. Our son, his wife and our two grandchildren are nearby. We spend a lot of time together, enjoying family activities.

Some of the many interests in my life have included various travels, continued learning, reading, writing, family and fun! “Life is good!”

Ask me a question!
Some fun facts!

I began experimenting with word choices and arrangement while creating descriptive paragraphs in High School English. I found that carefully chosen written words could produce a desired mental image as well as a targeted emotional response. I continued to work on developing this skill through writing essays and short stories in college. It then became a hobby of mine throughout my working career as a Special Education teacher. Getting it right seemed almost magical.

Something about me that might surprise you…

I wanted to be a boxer when I was a teenager. No one would ever guess that one! You never heard of female boxers in those days, and my mom told me not to tell anyone that I wanted to box.  I grew up watching boxing on television with my father. I didn’t grow up with a brother, and that was the main spectator sport my dad followed. Even as an adult, I would order pay-per-view for the title fights, then watch them by myself.

I have ten complete sets of dishes and love to do small themed dinner parties, coordinating food, décor and even music. Only my family and a few friends know of this obsession. I know they think it’s a little strange, but no one complains!

When I’m not writing, I enjoy…

Cooking is a favorite of mine. I like trying new recipes and spend a lot of time in the kitchen. I also enjoy reading and watching television. My favorites actually involve crime and deviant behavior.

Travel and taking classes at our Recreation Center are other interests.

The activities most dear to my heart are spent being with my husband, my son and his wife, and my two grandchildren.

Back To Top